President Buhari sacks SGF as Chairman FG Board reconstitution committee


President Muhammadu Buhari has removed the Secretary to the Government of the Federation Babachir David Lawan as chairman of the presidential committee on the reconstitution of federal government boards of parastatals, agencies and commissions.

Insider sources claimed Vice President Yemi Osinbajo has been told to chair the Presidential Committee.

The chairman of the National Drugs Law Enforcement Agencies (NDLEA) Muhammad Mustapha Abdallah was also appointed to head the secretariat of the committee at the instance of the vice president, a source said.

Following public outcry on the allegations of corruptions hanging on the neck of the SGF, a source confirmed that for “obvious reasons”, Babachir is no longer in charge of that responsibility.

It is said that the Abdallah-led team now meets frequently at Wuse II, Abuja.  They are working assiduously to meet with the mandate and their assignment would be soon completed after which its report would be submitted to the President and Commander in Chief of the Armed Forces.

The Attorney General of the Federation (AGF) and Minister of Justice, Abubakar Malami, has reportedly queried the SGF recently over alleged fraud at the Presidential Initiative on North East (PINE).

It would be recalled that the Nigeria Senate has been mounting pressure on Mr President to extend his anti-corruption drive on those indicted in the allegations of misappropriating over N2.5billion President Initiative on the North East funds.  A company linked to the  SGF was said to have spent hundreds of millions of Naira to clear grasses in IDP camp{s}

President Buhari who has in the past attested to the integrity of his political allies admitted in his new year message that there were mistakes and wrongdoings in handling of the affairs of IDPs which he said must be correct and the culprits punished.

Mr. Babachir in October, 2015 headed an eight-member committee set up by the Federal Government to compile names of prospective appointees into the Federal Government Board, Parastatals and agencies.

Members of the committee included Alhaji Mai Mala Buni (northeast), Alhaji Zakari Ede (northcentral), Alhaji Inuwa Abdulkadir (northwest), Chief Hillard Etagbo Eta (south-south), Chief Pius Akinyelure (southwest), Chief Emmanuel Eneukwe (southeast) and Mr. Gideon Sammani, a senior special assistant to the president as secretary.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here