FRSC promotes officers, challenges them on dedication to duty


The Federal Road Safety Corps has promoted nine of her officers to the position of Assistant Corp Marshal at the Corp headquarters in Abuja.

While decorating the newly Promoted officers, the Corp Marshal of the commission, Dr. Boboye Oyeyemi charged the newly promoted officers to brace up for the task ahead while thanking them for a meritorious service to Nigeria.

Dr. Oyeyemi in his speech charged them on the morality of their duties

“Let me give you an insight into the task ahead. A number of far reaching policy are on board which include re-organization of field commands, especially commanding officers to give bite to road traffic laws and regulations enforcement and public enlightenment programmes.  Also an urgent need to stop inducement of operatives by motorists as you are challenged to prosecute both the inducer(s) and the receiver(s) in accordance with the laws of the land”

Dr. Oyeyemi also said that the management will take further steps to meet the recommendation of the road safety country capacity review which recommend that the Corps presence should be about 50 kilometers radius interval on the nation`s highway.  He told them that twenty new commands are being planned to be established in 2017.

The FRSC boss however stressed that with the incessant knock-down of staff by errant motorists, the Corps will push for stiffer penalties for offenders especially tankers and trailers drivers as their activities have become quite negative and this will not be allowed to subsist especially for motorists plying the Abuja-Kaduna and Abuja- Jos axis.

The Corp Marshal also stated that for the commission to strengthen her information and enlightenment duty to the public, the commission is set to establish FRSC traffic radio which will be in close partnership with other media organizations in order to harness available advantages for the common good of Nigerians not negating the speed limiting device, standard tyre use and other earlier initiated campaign programmes initiated by the commission.

The Newly Promoted Officers include Biu Dauda Aliu, Taiwo Iseyin, Albert Moore, Gilbert Igbokwe, Osawe Peter.

Others include Fidelis Osakwe, Ayobami Omiyale, Peter Akinbo and Susan Ajenge.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here